Thursday, 9 Sep 2010

Rockstar by Soon Lee

Posted in Crafts, Shops tagged , , , , , at 2:50 pm by betherino

I’ve always loved loved loved Soon Lee at Haji Lane. I love the vintage touches, the old-school decor and the fact that they sell paperback classics alongside their clothes – so when I heard they’d set up a new branch at Cineleisure, I was a little taken aback. Half the charm of Soon Lee comes from the fact that they are situated off the beaten track and in a quaint shophouse. But I wasn’t to be terribly disappointed by the more accessible Rockstar.

I didn’t take many photos – furtively wielding my Canon self-consciously wondering if the salesgirl was going to kick me to the curb – but here are a couple of shots for you.

Rockstar by Soon Lee

The color of the displays made me happy! Look at that red and blue and yellow.

They also sell Toms shoes – I was deliriously in love with a gingham pair. They’re terribly comfy and terribly stylish in their can’t-care-less cotton twill.

Toms shoes
Toms fall collection from Rockstar by Soon Lee’s blogspot

I also really like terrariums and they sell them in gorgeous glass jars here.

Rockstar by Soon lee - Terrariums

Each of them has its own name! The short one with the adorable curled squat legs is named Lucia, and I had a hard time staying away from her. The long-stemmed one is named Gisele (after the leggy model, I’m sure) and is now going for 50% off. But with prices rising to almost $300, you might be better off procuring your own jars and attempting your own terrarium. There are plenty of lovely old glass jars out there just waiting for a resident plant!

Alternatively, you could try your luck with Etsy – lots of beautiful terrariums selling there. weegreenspot makes the loveliest themed terrariums and promises that they will arrive just as you see them in the pictures.


Bird and pink easy care cactus and air plant, taken from weegreenspot’s etsy page

I’m not quite sure how much I trust international mail though!

2 Comments »

  1. […] bought this little glass container with a view to making a mini terrarium. King and King Wong is having a sale at Nex and they’re selling these beauties in all sizes […]

  2. Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would love
    to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.


Leave a Reply

