Thursday, 17 Feb 2011

Nailin’ it: Diagonal French manicure

Posted in Nailin' It at 11:41 am by betherino

Because I’m terribly self-indulgent and am rather proud of the fact that I can pull off a not-too-shabby self-manicure, I’m going to feature my fingers whenever I do something interesting with them. Like this week’s diagonal French manicure!

Diagonal French manicure

My nails chip really easily so it’s rare that I get all of them long at the same time. Too often my nails suffer from “onion peeling” where the top layer peels away; it gets weakened and thin and I end up cutting them short in frustration to start from scratch (pun not intended). I think also because I’m always on the computer or on my iPhone, my nails get stressed as well and end up breaking. This is one of those rare times that all my nails have remained intact!

NailTek Intensive Therapy TheFaceShop top coat

To keep my nails strong, I use NailTek II: Intensive Therapy for Soft, Peeling Nails as a basecoat. My OPI top coat has gotten thick and sludgy, resulting in blobby, bubbly nails; so I’ve just gone and bought TheFaceShop’s top coat, which cost me a grand total of $2.50 and works just as well, I think.

OPI Get Me To The Taj On Time OPI Alpine Snow

This week I wanted to go back to a classic French color on my nails after doing a dark glitter French last week, but at the same time I got tired of the same old same old lines. So I decided to try a diagonal tip instead, using double coats of my favorite nude pink base, OPI Get Me To The Taj On Time (from the India collection) with classic OPI Alpine Snow tips.

I started midway through the nail and slanted up to the very edge. I was quite pleased with the result but something seemed to be lacking – it just seemed a tad plain. So I Googled “diagonal manicure” just to look for some inspiration, and found this picture:

Diagonal French

The gold stripe outlining the tip seemed perfect. That’s what it was lacking! The gold line would also be perfect for hiding the irregularities in the white tips (self-manicures are never perfect). But I didn’t have the gold glitter pen, so I made do with what I had – silver glitter SL211 from TheFaceShop.

The Face Shop SL211

I simply painted over the white tips to give a little silver glitter sheen to them and make it a little more interesting. It wasn’t exactly what I wanted, but close enough!

I get all my nail polish equipment from Nail Vibe. I’ve just sent in for another batch of polish and this time I’m going to get my hands on those gold and silver polish pens to do outlines with! Excitement.

Leave a Reply

