Friday, 25 Feb 2011

Blushing pink

Posted in Nailin' It at 5:34 pm by betherino

Pantone’s color of the year is honeysuckle, in celebration of all things pink. After some deliberation, I’ve decided I quite like it.

Pantone Honeysuckle

I’m not much of a pink girl myself, but occasionally I like to indulge my girly side, and so this week my nails are bright and joyous purply-pink. I’d just gotten my package of new polishes from Nail Vibe, and I wanted to try out all my new toys! I thought I’d go with the diagonal French tips again, this time in different colors.

OPI Houston we have a purple and OPI Pearls of wisdom

The base is OPI Houston We Have a Purple, from their Texas collection. Very apt for me since we’re going to watch Jeff Bridges in True Grit later on. It looks red in the picture but it’s really more of a purply-pink. When I first stroked on the polish, I was surprised at how thin and watery it was. The first coat was really translucent and I ended up putting three coats on to get a more opaque effect. I thought at first maybe there was something wrong with the polish but according to OPI, this is the “sorbet” effect it’s trying to achieve. Now, after a day of looking at my nails, I’ve decided I really like it after all! The slight translucency gives the polish a candy jelly look. The color is vibrant and shiny and glossy, and the polish dries fast so it’s easy to get three coats on. I probably should have let it dry even more, because I’ve got a few teeny bubbles in the polish, but they’re small and few enough that it doesn’t bother me much. I was looking for a deeper purple though, and I realized that the one I’m looking for is OPI No Spain No Gain. I’ll be buying that next!

OPI Houston We Have A Purple OPI Pearl of Wisdom

The tips are done in OPI Pearl of Wisdom, from the Hong Kong collection. It’s a beautiful sheer opalescent shimmer with hints of pink and gold in it. It looks really pink on my nails and I’m not sure but I think it’s because the bottom coat of Houston We Have A Purple is showing through. The color is gorgeous though – looks good layered on brownish shades as well.

BNB-Glitter

I outlined the tips in BNB nail art glitter in gold; I’ve taken the picture from Nail Vibe because I can’t find it anywhere else on the Net. It’s a very thin brush that’s beautifully easy to draw with, even with my left hand. The gold flecks are crazy dense so the color looks fabulous. I have the silver one as well, and I really love the picture in Nail Vibe where Melva drew on silver tips on a dark blue base. I’m not yet adventurous enough to try greens and blues on my fingers but after seeing my friend’s OPI Jade Is The New Black, I must say I’m terribly terribly tempted!

Next week I’ll either be testing my new dotting tool or my China Glaze crackle polish!

Leave a Reply

