Thursday, 3 Nov 2011

Anticipating Bangkok

Posted in Clothes at 12:26 am by betherino

I’ve been waiting on my Bangkok trip for the last few weeks months now and while by and large I have been quite good about not buying clothes in anticipation of the trip, I’ve still picked up a few pieces here and there. Sooner or later I’m going to have to clear out the cupboard to make space for the new things coming in!

I’ve allowed myself to buy mostly skirts since BKK skirts don’t really fit me (curse of the big hips and booty) but I’ve been trying really hard to restrain myself on other items! Just to keep myself on track, here’s a (growing) list of the items I want to pick up in BKK.

1. Cardigans, sweaters, blazers, swing jackets, etc

layers
from rdujour

I’ve recently discovered the wonder of layering (and also an extra-strength anti-perspirant) and by golly I’m not going to let the tropical weather stop me from layering! I figure the trick is to wear light layers and sleeveless tops under them. Also to jump on the chance to layer if it happens to rain in the morning and it’s cool enough to get away with it!

2. Striped or polka dot dresses


from extrapetite


from thisisnotnew.com

I can’t get enough of these classic prints. I can’t explain it. Polka dots and stripes are such timeless patterns and disgustingly delicious and I LOVE THEM.

3. Swing skirts


from brinny.nwi, a blogger who absolutely rocks the swing skirt

I know I said BKK skirts don’t always fit me, but that applies to close fits or pencil skirts. Swing skirts, with their fullness, are much more accommodating of bigger bottoms like mine! And I’ve lately developed a taste for swing skirts and have been wearing my boring black one to death. I need more!

4. Something made of lace – a skirt, a dress, a top, whatever, if it’s lace I’ll have it


from alexandra p.

Lace is another one of those timeless trends; though it’s easy to look hoochie. I want something that isn’t hoochie, of course, which might be a little difficult in BKK. But we can try.

5. Mustard tights


from amyistheparty

‘Nuff said.

6. Lots and lots of accessories – bracelets, skinny belts, etc

7. A medium-sized handbag – maybe splash out a little on a good quality fake ;)

I really want to try and be disciplined this time and not buy back a whole bunch of cheap-looking stuff that I’ll end up not wearing and regretting. While part of the fun is the experience, I don’t want to face buyer’s regret and end up wanting to sell the whole lot off at flea markets or giving them away to friends who can fit. So I’m going to be strict with myself and make sure I get nice things even if it means paying a little bit more for them!

Leave a Reply

